Monday Fun-Day

Tonight’s Workout:

Warm-Up

3x:

10 Cals on AA

5x Wall Squats

10x Overhead DB Reverse Lunge

5x Inch Worms + 2 Push Ups

Strength:

Work up to a heavy Turkish Get-Up

Then:

Every minute on the minute for 10 minutes:

6-8 Strict Presses @ 95-115/55-75

Conditioning:

3 rounds for time:

10 Split Jumps

20 1-Arm Sit-Ups w KB (switch arms at 10)

10 Pull-Ups

Thoughts and Progress

So, since the last time I posted, I worked out last Wednesday and Friday. Friday was back squats and rounds for time. I managed to do back squats with chains. I definitely struggled to find my heels and almost fell over face first the first round of back squats.

Since last week, I also had something mess up in my thigh that linked into my knee. If you’ve read back to the past in my blog, I’ve had knee problems almost my entire life. I have cartilage damage and I’m still working up my strength around it because I’m also seriously knock-kneed which causes issues of its own. So lunges have really been a no for me right now including really reverse lunges. So instead of reverse lunges with weight tonight, I did reverse lunges without weight and just kept my arm up in the arm.

For split jumps, I did squats instead. Squats don’t hurt my knee nearly as badly and I’m actually getting pretty good at them so far. I think this is because the weight is evenly distributed. To be honest, I weigh around 230-240lbs or at least, I did at my last doctor’s visit (I don’t own a scale unless you count the wii fit board). So that’s a lot of weight on my joints and why I’m really doing this.

This was my first time ever doing Turkish Get Ups, but the coach said that for doing it for the first time, and for the way I’m protecting my right knee, I was doing it 10/10. The getting back down part is much easier especially since we were using a padded mat. I did manage to do this with a 5lb dumbbell for about 10-12 reps (5-6 each side) just going through the motions and trying to get my right knee to not be a scaredy cat.

Obviously, I’m not ready to do pull ups yet – not even the kipping ones (I think that’s what it’s called – crossfit/strength and conditioning newbie here). So instead, the Coach had me to ring rows. I definitely think I can start taking this to the next notch by ways of my angle but since tonight was for time, I wasn’t going to mess with how it was. For the timing, I managed to NOT FINISH LAST!!! So, on Friday – I decided to go work out with K and we did this set of like 6 different exercises 4x for time – K took like 10 minutes – I took like 19 minutes. Also – it was like 100 sit-ups total so I feel pretty good about that.

Strict presses were pretty good. We were working at doing volume. 10 minutes with every minute on the minute doing 6-8 strict presses (no push presses unless your arms absolutely failed). I started out with a 15lb bar with 20 lbs on it but ended up having to go down to 10lbs on it to get the actual 6-8 reps in within the minute without going into push presses. Either way, I frikkin’ did it.

I can already feel this huge change in my stamina and endurance and strength. Tonight for warmup, we had to either row or bike on the AA for 10 cals or 200m. I chose to row because I f’in hate that AA bike (I’m determined to like it eventually though). I managed to row 200m in less than 1 minute without getting ridiculously out of breath or my legs dying on me. That was my favorite accomplishment of the night. The fact that all the stuff I’m doing ends up coming somewhat naturally to me, shows me I really can be fit. I really can be an athlete. I will do it. And I won’t quiet until the dress fits.

Wedding side note: Venue is booked for August 13, 2016!!! Panda and Penguin 2016

Leave a Reply

